The Broward County PBA Scholarship Committee is now accepting applications for our 2021 college scholarship fund. This scholarship is awarded once a year to the son or daughter of a Broward County PBA member. Before you complete the online application, please read the following rules and eligibility requirements. You will need to provide documents to accompany the online application.

To be eligible, all participants must:

1. Be the son or daughter of a Broward County PBA member who has been a member for a minimum of two years and is currently in good standing.
2. Be, or plan to be, a part-time or full-time student at an accredited two- or four-year college or university.
3. Meet the following grade and test criteria:

  • An overall GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • An SAT score of 1,050 or higher
  • An ACT composite score of 20 or higher
4. Include an essay of no more than 500 words that answers the following question:

Unlike the 30-year law enforcement veteran who is retiring, his or her replacement has lived their lives on social media. They have shared their experiences and opinions with a vast majority of people each and every day. However, in today’s climate, a law enforcement officer’s social media postings are being watched more than ever, and not just by the community, but by the agency as well. With that, what are your thoughts on the law enforcement community’s rather untenable position of trying to balance an officer’s right to free speech versus a department’s right to regulate conduct?



Applicants should realize that many scholarships are based on financial need as well as merit. The information furnished will be kept strictly confidential. The application deadline is April 30, 2021, at 4:00 p.m.

2020 Scholarship Winners

Ashley Davis, along with her family, accepts the first place scholarship award from Broward County PBA President Rod Skirvin.

The Broward County Police Benevolent Association has announced the winners of its annual college scholarship essay contest for the 2020-2021 academic year.

The essay topic for the applicants was, “Community-based policing, or community-oriented policing, is both a philosophy and an organizational strategy that allows the police and the community to work together to solve problems of crime, disorder and safety issues and to improve the quality of life for everyone in that community. Some people believe this is a great way to bring law enforcement and the community together to solve the problem of criminal activities, while others claim this takes away the autonomy of certain communities and leads to an increase in bureaucratic and governmental power over community affairs. What are your thoughts on the advantages and disadvantages of community policing?”

This year’s first place winner is Ashley Davis of Coral Springs. Ashley received a $1,200 scholarship, which will be applied toward her education at Spalding University. The first place scholarship award is sponsored by Matthew Oppedisano of the Wellington, Florida-based Law Enforcement Retirement Advisory Service.

The second place winner was Brianna Burgan of Boca Raton. Brianna received a $600 scholarship, donated by Richard Applefeld, and will be applied toward her education at Lynn University.

The remaining winners each received scholarships in the amount $500 from the Broward County PBA. The third place recipient was Abigail Rillo of Davie. Abigail will be attending the University of Florida. Michael Lacey of Coral Springs earned the fourth place award, and will be continuing his education at the University of Central Florida. The fifth place winner was Alexis Cabrera of Royal Palm Beach. Alexis will be attending the Florida Atlantic University.

The Broward County PBA Annual Scholarship Award was founded in 2003 as part of The HOPE Fund’s mission to assist the children of law enforcement members in their effort to attend college. To be eligible for the scholarship, participants must be the son or daughter of a Broward County PBA member in good standing and plan to be a part-time or full-time student at an accredited two- or four-year institution of higher learning.